TUESDAY TUNES: Never Shout Never!

Formed in Joplin, Missouri, Never Shout Never is an indie pop/acoustic band. Currently comprised of members: Christofer Drew, Taylor Macfee, Hayden Kaiser, and Caleb Denison, thats not how it all began.  Christofer Drew began making music as NeverShoutNever in September 2005. His first exposure came through the internet, where he achieved success on MySpace. Chrisopher than released The Yippee EP on July 29, 2008. On July 30, 2008 he hit the mainstream as he performed on the then popular show, Total Request Live (TRL) on MTV. After that he really took to the stage as he began tour with Hellogoodbye and Ace Enders in the fall of 2008.

After touring with them, Never Shout Never continued touring with bands such as The Scene Aesthetic, The Honorary Title, and The Bigger Lights in late February 2009 and then toured with bands such as Forever the Sickest Kids, The Cab, We the Kings,and Mercy Mercedes, among others in spring 2009 as part of The Bamboozle Roadshow.

Never Shout Never released the single titled Happy, on iTunes on March 3, 2009. The Summer EP released shortly after that on June 23, 2009. Within the time of releasing that album it was announced on that Ingle had signed to Warner Bros. Records, ending a major-label bidding war. As part of the deal, Ingle will run and make releases on his own imprint label, Loveway Records.

Never Shout Never’s debut album, What Is Love?, was produced by Butch Walker and released in January 2010. Never Shout Never’s second full length album, Harmony, was released in August of the same year. In November 2010, Never Shout Never co-headlined the Harmony Tour, where they had fans gather can foods to help those in need. As a gift to the fans, Never Shout Never and The Maine released a live split EP. As of December 21, 2010, the split EP is available for free download on Never Shout Never’s website.

The band’s hometown, Joplin, Missouri, was destroyed by a tornado on May 22, 2011. Following the destruction, Christofer began a relief fund with United Way to raise $1 million for his hometown. To raise awareness about the devastation of Joplin, Christofer took video footage of the destruction and posted it on YouTube on June 1, 2011. The video, which features the song “Time Travel”, encouraged viewers to donate to the relief of the town via his United Way fund.

Never Shout Never’s third full-length album, Time Travel was released on September 20, 2011. Never Shout Never is now on the Time Travel tour with the bands A Rocket to the Moon, Plain White T’s,Carter Hulsey and Fake Problems. To check out more on the band visit their site: http://www.nevershoutnever.com/frontpage or follow them on twitter @NSNOfficial.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: